Reckless Driving Lawyer

Richmond, Virginia, Reckless Driving Defense Attorney

Under Virginia law, a police officer can charge you with reckless driving for driving any speed over 80 mph or at least 20 mph over the posted speed limit. Beware: Reckless driving is not just an ordinary traffic offense. It can be charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor and carries a possible penalty of up to 12 months in jail and up to a $2,500 fine.

If you have been ticketed for reckless driving, don't expect the traffic court to take it easy on you. Paying your ticket is an admission of guilt, the same as a conviction. Your driving record will reflect a serious traffic offense for years. Along with the criminal penalties you face, you are almost certainly facing a possible driver's license suspension and an increase in your auto insurance premiums for years into the future.

It Pays To Fight Your Reckless Driving Ticket

I have been helping people avoid the harsh penalties of serious traffic violations in eastern Virginia for more than 38 years. I know how damaging a reckless driving charge can be on your record. I will work aggressively to help you get the violation dismissed if circumstances warrant it or reduced to a speeding charge, if possible.

To Parents Paying Auto Insurance For Their College Student In Eastern Virginia

A driver under the age of 21 in Virginia will face a serious penalty if charged with reckless driving. Chances are, you are covering your son or daughter on your auto insurance policy. If your college student at any campus in eastern Virginia has received a serious traffic violation, I will work hard to help avoid a suspended license and the increased insurance premiums.

I represent drivers charged with reckless driving in Richmond, Henrico County, Chesterfield County and Hanover County and throughout eastern Virginia. Call me at 804-643-0147 or use the convenient email contact form to schedule a free consultation and case evaluation with an experienced traffic violations defense lawyer right away.